Home Page

The Oaks Primary School

From Little Acorns Grow Mighty Oaks

Prime Areas

There are three Prime Areas within the Early Years Curriculum, as listed below. Throughout Nursery and Reception we work to develop these areas of learning which underpin the Specific Areas.

Our school is currently working hard to raise the reading standards across the school and promote a love of reading. In combination with this whole school aim, Nursery is focusing on raising the standards of Communication and language development.


Communication and language development

This involves giving children opportunities to speak and listen in a range of situations and to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves. Within this area of development there are three sub areas: Listening and attention; Understanding; Speaking.


Physical development

This involves providing opportunities for children to be active and interactive, and to develop their co-ordination, control, and movement. Children must also be helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and to make healthy choices in relation to food. Within this area of development there are two sub areas: Moving and handling; Health and self-care.


Personal, social and emotional development

This involves helping children to:

 develop a positive sense of themselves and others

 form positive relationships and develop respect for others

 develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings

 understand appropriate behaviour in groups

 have confidence in their own abilities

Within this area of development there are three sub areas: Making relationships; Self-confidence and self-awareness; Managing feelings and behaviour.