Home Page

The Oaks Primary School

From Little Acorns Grow Mighty Oaks

Specific Areas

In the Early Years curriculum there are four Specific Areas of learning.


Literacy: Reading and Writing

This involves encouraging children to read and write, both through listening to others reading, and being encouraged to begin to read and write themselves. Children must be given access to a wide range of reading materials such as books, poems, and other written materials to ignite their interest.


Mathematics: Numbers and Shape, Space and Measures

This involves providing children with opportunities to:

 practise and improve their skills in counting numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems

 describe shapes, spaces, and measures


Understanding of the world: People and Communities, The World and Technology 

This involves guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.


Expressive arts and design: Exploring and Using Media and Materials and Being Imaginative 

This involves supporting children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials. It involves providing children with opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role play, and design and technology.